PRE-ORDER: Mister Water Wet – Significant Soil



In stock


West Mineral return with a followup to Mister Water Wet’s 2019’s subtropical ambient slow-burn debut ‘Bought the Farm’, expanding Iggy Romeu’s horizons to contrast feverish Afro-Caribbean ambient jazz with jaunty illbient and atmospheric freakouts. Low-lit heat that’s highly recommended if yr into Nick León, Carlos Niño, Kelman Duran, Gonçalo F. Cardoso.

Mister Water Wet continues to excavate the tropical soundscapes that simmer the producer’s Kansas City home with his Puerto Rican roots, on a new album of extended vignettes and mood pieces that cross a late 90’s Mo Wax instrumentals vibe with present day feelings of displacement and ennui.

LP opener ‘Bory’ tunes us into Water Wet’s weirdly fuzzed frequencies, where tremeloed strings and found sounds resemble what might have been a lost dean blunt x dean hurley sound design concept for Inland Empire, while ‘I Saw the Green Flash’ opens a swirl of strings and traditional rhythms caught in a reflecting pool of canned classical orchestrals and 1950s theremin wails. ‘Good Apple’, meanwhile, cranks up the mood with aged x looped piano paired with an undulating, bass-heavy shuffle that wouldn’t sound out of place on a Kelman Duran x Martin Denny mixtape.

‘When Kennybrook Burned to the Ground’ leans into heady jazz vapours, spreading crackle over pitch-fucked horn samples, but it’s the producer’s weird use of percussion that keeps us gripped: scattering his arrangements across the grid, mimicking an ensemble of players deployed in irregular formations. Romeu embraces trip-hop on ‘Any Other Time’, blending Afro-Caribbean percussion with a swung downtempo beat, while ‘Isthmus’ reminds us of the clatterbox plunder of Moonshake’s PJ Harvey hookup ‘Just a Working Girl’ – with all its asymmetric hooks.

The extended closing track ‘Losing Blood’ takes a leaf out of Fennesz’s glitched rulebook, stretching and folding disintegrating loops through an 11 minute descent into the elegiac aether.

music by Iggy Romeu
art by Edward Shaughnessy
mastered by Miles Whittaker

1. Bory 05:48
2. I Saw The Green Flash 05:06
3. Good Apple 04:30
4. When Kennybrook Burned To The Ground 05:21
5. Any Other Time 04:28
6. Isthmus 04:58
7. Losing Blood 11:03

Catalogue Number: OUEST087


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “PRE-ORDER: Mister Water Wet – Significant Soil”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *