Leven Signs – Hemp Is Here


(Futura Resistenza) – (RESLP006)

Out of stock


      1 Prague Spring
      2 Iraj 11
      3 Sedes Sapientiae
      4 Morse Message
      5 This Inner Space
      6 Rumi
      7 Das Seal

In 1985 a wondrous album titled Hemp Is Here was created by the obscure English duo Leven Signs, composed of Pete Karkut and Maggie Turner. Since then, Hemp Is Here has proven to be a visionary recording that holds a special place in the ongoing expansion of experimental music. Through the method of tape collage, an unclassifiable recording was created that consisted of post-punk and avant-pop sounds, tribal rhythms and dub and folklore elements. The result was an unpretentious yet sonically sophisticated endeavour that subconsciously evoked the twentieth-century avant-gardist and minimalist music traditions. While maintaining a distinctly original sound, their output still contributed to local explorations and remained somewhat in line with other genre-dissolving bands from eighties England like Rimarimba, This Heat, Woo, 23 Skidoo or Eric Random and The Bedlamites.

Format: 12″ Vinyl
Label: Futura Resistenza
Catalogue Number: RESLP006
Record Condition: Near Mint (NM or M-)
Sleeve Condition: Near Mint (NM or M-)

No Title Duration
A1 Our Position Vanishes 3:51
A2 Prague Spring 5:27
A3 Iraj 11 3:10
A4 La Luna 5:20
A5 Sedes Sapientiae 3:55
B1 Carry The Torch 3:10
B2 Morse Message 1:28
B3 This Inner Space 3:25
B4 Rumi 3:31
B5 Das Seal 3:44
B6 Held In Arms 3:23


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Leven Signs – Hemp Is Here”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *